Women’s Studies

The title of my program I am going to be studying at Plymouth State University is Women’s Studies. The program I want to study is going to include history, health, art and many other disciplines that explore the lives of women. My program will study feminism and the history culture, and politics of women. My program will also be about issues that surround women and gender. I created this program because Women’s Studies has been something I have always been interested in and I wanted to pursue my interests in what I am studying in college. There is no Women’s Studies major, but there is a minor. The minor strictly has Women’s Studies classes, but I want my major to have more than that. I want to learn the difference between genders in different types of classes from different majors. I included Social Statistics as my QRCO. This class would go under my major because this class includes disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, history, and social work which is also disciplines that could go under women’s studies. I also included Intro to Media and Cultural Studies as my TECO. I included this class because it talks about mass communication history and theory and women’s studies includes a lot about history. For my WRCO, I included the class Anthropology and Sociological Theory. I included this because this class is about how to understand society and there are many issues with women in society today. I then added classes from the women’s studies minor into my program. American Women’s History is a course that would go under my program because it is about the history about women. Women and Crime would fit under my program because it is about the crime that involves women and how they are treated in society. Women’s Health Issues would also go under my program because it talks about health issues specifically about women. Psychology of Women would work because it talks about the minds of women and how they work. Women and Sport Cultures is about women who do sports and their place in society. Sex and Empire in Colonial India is about sex in the society about Colonial India today. Women in Contemporary American Culture would fit since it is about women and their culture. Sociology of Family would fit because women and mother hood are a big part of families. Women in World Development would work because it talks about women’s impact on the development of the world. I have already taken Cultural Anthropology, Society, Ethics, and the Law, and Perspectives on Aging. Cultural Anthropology talked about the difference between men and women and the way they lived. Society, Ethics, and the Law talks a lot about controversial issues in society today, which including women’s problems. Perspectives on Aging talked about the difference between men and women aging.

 

My program is interdisciplinary because women’s studies includes information about the lived experiences of women and the interrelationship between the emotional and the intellectual in women’s lives that is opposing to mainstream approaches in which it should be looked at with an interdisciplinary perspective. The different variety of women’s experiences and situations go in the category of more than one disciplines. Different disciplines are put together to help teach women’s studies issues. The major, women’s studies would prepare me for my future. Having this major could help you with many jobs. For example, a good job I can see myself doing is a victim’s advocate. With this job you would help victims of domestic abuse, hate crimes, and other acts of violence. Women’s studies would help learn the issues and struggles that women go through everyday.

Leave a comment